REVIEW: HOLIKA HOLIKA’s Pig Nose Clear Blackhead 3-Step Kit

Ever wondered if Korean products could get any cuter? Holika Holika’s Pig Nose Clear Blackhead has been really popular in the past year and I have seen many reviews on this product. My friend also told me that his sister used it and it worked really well for her. So I went to Holika Holika in Hong Kong and bought some to try out for myself and see if it is really worth all that hype!

In this review, I am testing this product on my boyfriend. My blackheads are not as easy to remove via porestrips so whenever I use strips they are less effective for me. Luckily, my bf’s pores and blackheads are pretty evident and hopefully the results and how well this product comes through. You can purchase these products in Canada at any Asian supermarket – I think I saw them in Osaka Supermarket in Yaohan and H-Mart in Aberdeen. They will be slightly more expensive going for roughly $4-5 each. I also found them on Amazon for $1-2; however, I think shipping is not included in that price. A reliable online shop to buy them from is Memebox. They currently have a sale going on for any blackheads/pores related products so go check them out!IMG_3652

TIP: Before starting with step 1, put step 3 into the fridge so it’ll be cool when you use it!

Step 1: Opening up the pores (15-20 minutes)
Ingredients: Water, White Hazel Water, Butylene Glycol, Sage Leaf Water, Melissa Officinalis Leaf Extract, Arctium Majus Root Extract, Peppermint Leaf Extract, Juniperus Communis Fruit Extract, Hypericum Perforatum Extract, Saponaria Officinalis Leaf Extract, Chrysanthellum Indicum Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Rosemany Leaf Extract, Aspalathus linearis Leaf Extract, Thyme Flower/Leaf Extract, Jasmine Flower Water, Sugar Male Extract, Orange Fruit Extract, Vaccinium Myrtillus Fruit/Leaf Extract, Sugar Cane Extract, Lemon Fruit Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Caprylyl Glycol, 1,2-Hexanediol, Propanediol, Anise Fruit Extract, Fragrance

The first step is a wet mask sheet that you put onto your nose so that it helps open up your pores. It feels a bit tingly – according to my bf it said it stung his eyes (so I decided to do a little more research on the ingredients to see why that is, and I’m thinking it’s mainly due to the Peppermint Leaf & other Leaf Extracts). When I used it, it didn’t sting my eyes. I did find that the sheet did not fit well on him, and even on me when I tried it on myself. IMG_3651

After 15 minutes, I removed the sheet and noticed that the pores were slightly bigger and some of the blackheads were peeking out. When he went to rinse off the product, he said that he also noticed that his pores were bigger- which is a good sign!

Step 2: Getting rid of your blackheads (10-15 minutes)
Ingredients: Water, PVP, PEG-12 Dimethicone, Kaolin, Titanium Dioxide, VP/VA Copolymer, Propylene Glycol, Methyl-paraben, Lemon Fruit Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, CI 17200

IMG_3655

TIP: Make sure that your nose is still wet from step 1.

The second step is the pore strip. If you have ever used any pore strips (ie Biore etc.), you will know how painful this is. You put this strip on a wet nose, it will stick on better and hurt less later if it’s wet! Trust me, I tried with a dried nose and it really hurt, and felt uncomfortable. Compared to the first step, this strip fits better on the nose – but I do think it could go a bit farther onto the cheeks like the first one. IMG_3656

It says to leave this on for 10-15 minutes, but I decided to leave it on for 10 minutes because the drier it gets the more it hurts when you peel it off! Remember, to peel this off slowly because you’re not only pulling out the pores, but also the hairs on your skin, as well as it creates trauma on your skin and stretches it. Try not to use these too often! Anyways – when I peeled the strip off it was sooooo gross. IMG_3657You can see the blackheads (he has a lot btw!, and I mean ALOT) and you will also notice that there are some fuzzy bits on the side – which are the little hairs that are on the surface of your skin. So it’s just something to keep in mind that while these can be really effective to removing blackheads, it can also be quite harming to our lovely skin! Of course, after using this strip your pores are now still BIG and OPEN and VULNERABLE which means it’s time to move on to step 3!

Step 3: Tightening the pores (15-20 minutes)
Ingredients: Water, Glycerin, Propanediol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Erythritol, Trehalose, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Lemon Fruit Extract, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Anise Fruit Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Lime Fruit Extract, Dispyros Kaki Leaf Extract, Grape Fruit Extract, Caprylyl Glycol, 1,2-Hexanediol, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol, Disodium EDTA, Fragrance

IMG_3658The 3rd and final step is the most refreshing one – it’s a tightening gel mask made only for your nose. I’ll have to say – it is one of the HARDEST things to put on your face because it is so gel-y and gooey. When I tried to put it on myself I had a lot of trouble trying to figure out how to do it because it comes with the plastic sheet, the gel mask and a mesh-like sheet. From helping him, I realised the easiest way to keep this gel mask intact and keep its own form is the leave the mesh sheet on. However, I’m trying to see if there is a way to apply this on easier without using that – if anyone knows please tell me! Putting this mask into the fridge will also help tighten the pores a bit because our pores tend to shrink in the cold and expand when its hot

Final result
After the roller-coaster ride of using this product, where it stung, hurt, and felt nice and cool – I would say it worked pretty well on him!Before and After
You can see that there are less blackheads and his nose is smoother, and his pores are a lot cleaner! Overall, I think this is a really good pore strip product since it removed SO MUCH blackheads from his nose! Unfortunately, my blackheads are a lot deeper and when I tried using this it did not work as well for me as it did for my bf.

Holika Holika Pig-Nose Clear Blackhead 3-Step Rating: 4/5
– Step 1 and 2 masks fit the nose differently, and Step 3 was hard to put on
– Super effective, but it takes a long time to go through the entire process compared to just using a regular pore strip

I would recommend using this only if your blackheads are close to the surface of your skin and it’s peeking out of your pores. Otherwise, if your blackheads are deep like mine it’s best to just wait for it to come up before using it. You can help clean out your blackheads in the shower too! Just use put your face under the shower head and let the warm water splash at your face for 3-5 minutes every night and you’ll see the results :) Happy skin caring friends & family!

Leave a message!

