[EYE PATCH SERIES] THE FACE SHOP Bright Eyes Modeling Gel Patch

Okay. Time to get back on track and take a look at more eye patches. So far I have tried two eye patches – one from Nature Republic and one from Tony Moly. I gave each one a rating out of five, and when I review a couple more I will be able to come up with a more conclusive list. Sadly for now, since I am still an AB noobie, I will have to keep trying different ones out! The problem with eye patches is that you have to constantly do them to be able to get a good of idea of how well they work. But at the same time, depending on the eye patch you get you can’t do them everyday. #struggleisreal

The most recent eye patch that I got is from The Face Shop. I’ve noticed (at least in Richmond/retail) that eye patches from the actual Korean stores cost rougly $4-6 which is a bit of a stretch for these under eye goodies. If you ever want to try them, I would suggest either going to an asian supermarket that carries cosmetics and skin care goodies, or online.

specs-copy

This eye patch is similar to the Nature Republic one because it is also an eye gel. The key features (from what I’ve read) of this one is to reduce wrinkles and brighten your eyes (specifically dark circles).

Evaluation

Total rating out of 5: 2

Quickie (for people like me who look things up at the store)
The Good

Refreshing, reduces wrinkles, fits many different face and eye shapes

The Bad

Doesn’t do anything for dark circles

Description

A double functional (wrinkle reducing, brightening)eye patch for concentrated care for eyes

Price (subject to change)

$5CAD

Packaging

the-back

Comes in a similar packaging style like Nature Republic. You have to peel off the back sheet in order to get to your eye patches.

two-protective-sheets

+1 for having an indent near the eye gel so you can have an easier time taking them out
+1 hygiene – two protective sheets covering the gel on each side (see image below – #1 & #3 are the protective sheets, #2 is the eye gel)

Ingredients

Water, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Niacinamide, Ceratonia Siliqua Gum, Chondrus Crispus, Lactobacillus Ferment – Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Artemisia Princeps Leaf Extract, Houttuynia Cordata Extract, Citrus Junos Fruit Extract, Castor Seed Oil, 1,2-Hexanediol, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Broccoli Extract, Ehtylhexylglycerin, Adenosine, Disodium Edta, Potassium Hydroxide

How it fits

It recommends to do “Face Yoga” before applying the eye gel. I didn’t do the one that it says on the mask; however, I did do the one that was recommended on their website. And I just realized I did it wrong because the directions in that link is for smile lines. I initially thought smile folds were aegyosals.. ugh stupid me.

the-fit

+1 for its shape – unlike the Nature Republic patch, this one is rounded on both eyes making it easier to fit around the eyes and adjust
+1 nice cool feeling, as with all eye patches

Effectiveness

Honestly, it didn’t do anything for my dark circles. Literally nothing. ie it failed in the brightening department. I did notice that my under-eye wrinkles weren’t as bad (not sure if you can see it in the picture). If you are looking to reduce wrinkles/firming around the eye area, it’s quite effective. Wish it did more for the dark circles though. Can you see a difference? I really can’t :(

ba

In Summary

Not going to lie, it was supposed to brighten but it didn’t do anything. Even though it’s good for firming the Tony Moly eye patch does that just as well and brightens your eyes too. Compared to Tony Moly, the price for this product is way to expensive and is subpar to what I was hoping it to be. Obviously, the results won’t come out after the first try but I would expect a slight difference in my dark circles and I got none. I mean, the name of the product is “Bright Eyes” you would think it would at least do something. Do not recommend – there are better alternatives out there at a cheaper price.

Leave a message!

